Red Velvet Cookies with Cream Cheese Frosting

I awoke late this morning. I lay in bed and stared at the ceiling, swimming in wonder as I came to a realization: this morning, it is summer. Yesterday morning, I wrote my Organic Chemistry final and walked out of the exam room with a lightness in my step, understanding that I was obligation free and finally enveloped into the world of adventure that we kids call summertime.

Image

Mont Royal in summer

Thus, I knew this morning would be a day for baking. During my course, I did not allot myself time to once update my blog. Now, I am free to take a day trip to the market, spend a sunny afternoon slow cooking, switch on the music and allow myself some well-earned relaxation. Hence, cookies.

Image

Red velvet cookies, no less. Red velvet cake has always been a favorite of mine, so when converting it into cookie form, I did my best to replicate the cake’s unique flavors. The cookies themselves are rather cakey, and with a dollop of rich cream cheese frosting plopped on top, they take on a slight irresistibility.

Image

Image

Image

The weather will be rainy for the next few days here. If you know anything about my music tastes, you know it revolves around the weather.

Presenting:

“Timber Timbre” by Timber Timbre

Timber Timbre’s self-titled album offers up a soulful addition to a calm, grey afternoon. The sometimes bluesy, sometimes folksy, always slightly eerie album rouses a complex concoction of emotions—Taylor Kirk’s sensually, raggedly mournful and resonating vocals invoke as much tender gloom as they do raw comfort.

Listen to “Demon Host

Listen to “I Get Low

For the rest of the weekend, I am going to see some long-lost friends (long-lost as a result of my constant studying), and try not to plan too much.

Red Velvet Cookies
Makes approx. 24

1 1/4  cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup cake flour
2 tablespoons cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup canola oil
1 1/3 cup sugar
1 large egg + 1 large egg yolk
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 tablespoons red food coloring (adjust to suit your visual preference)
1 teaspoon white vinegar
1 cup of white chocolate, broken into bits

Cream Cheese Frosting

1 tablespoon butter
1/3 cup cream cheese
1 tablespoon milk
1 cup powdered sugar

Method:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Combine flours, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt in a large bowl and whisk to mix.

In a smaller bowl, combine oil, sugar, eggs, vanilla, food coloring, and vinegar. Once mixed, slowly pour this mixture into the flour mixture and stir with a wooden spoon. Fold chocolate chunks into the dough.

Roll 12 tablespoon sized cookies and place on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Put them in the oven for 8-10 minutes. Allow to cool before frosting.*

*For the frosting, combine the cream cheese, butter and milk in a bowl. Stir in the powdered sugar until smooth. Drop some dollops onto your cookies and serve.

About Chris

I'm Chris, and here I am eating a nectarine. I live in ever-exciting Montreal, the true birthplace of my food fascination. Enjoy the food and check out some new tunes while you're at it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

