The Music Project

For me, the art of music is a wondrous thing. On its own, music can still the heart, shake the bone, or sweeten the breath. You may be sitting on your couch, but once your eyes close, music can sweep you into a frenzied journey.

Over the years, my music taste has taken on alternate forms and travelled down unexpected paths. I am thankful for this, as some of my childhood jams cast a slightly embarrassing shadow upon my current musical preferences. However, amidst the regretful echoes of Good Charlotte and Sum 41 were gems like Pink Floyd, Led Zeppelin and CSNY.

I give a good majority of credit to my brother, Alex, who exposed me to his music when I was in middle school (though I would never have admitted it at the time). When Alex was in high school and I in middle school, he purchased his first car—a stick shift ‘86 Toyota Tercel, a gold hatchback with a black rubber bumper. Despite the looks that were sent in Alex’s direction, I’d never seen anyone look so damn proud of a car. Even so, I deemed it ‘the pyramid on wheels’. It was in this tiny vehicle that I first learned how to drive, albeit a wobbly process. It was also where my brother stored his CD collection.

Oh yes, I pretended to turn my nose up at Daft Punk and Tosca and the indescribable Japanese techno-pop, writing Alex off as a weirdo, or a freakazoid, or whatever other colourful insults were the rage at the time. But secretly I loved the music. Every morning, as I climbed down into that damn Tercel, I waited in wonder at what he might show me next.

My current music taste centers around a lot of alternative and electronic: Andrew Bird, Fleet Foxes, Grizzly Bear, Radiohead, Zero 7, Yeasayer—you get the general gist. But as I’ve dug into my iTunes library, I’ve come to a realization: I’m in a musical rut. There comes a point in everyone’s life when their music collection all begins to sound the same, and it begins to sound somewhat stale. This is not to say that I will ever abandon the artists I love now. Instead, I will expand, swim outward, discover new genres (even the genres I don’t particularly enjoy). A musical rebirth, and in fear of sounding pretentious, a Musical Renaissance. This summer will be a summer dedicated to musical unearthing. Rather than use my entire library, I will instead create a huge playlist called “The Music Project” where I will stuff all of my new findings and listen with pricked and eager ears. I will post on my blog which artists I enjoyed best.

Here are some of the genres that I am hoping to explore: Eastern European folk, tribal/elemental, trip-hop, opera, ambient, choral/madrigal, R&B, freak folk, Indian classical, and drum n’ bass. Open to any suggestions.

Happy music hunting!

About Chris

I'm Chris, and here I am eating a nectarine. I live in ever-exciting Montreal, the true birthplace of my food fascination. Enjoy the food and check out some new tunes while you're at it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

