Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

So, I have a bit of a beef with oatmeal raisin cookies. Don’t get me wrong, I love raisins. I have fond memories of using my fingers to dig into those tiny red Sun-Maid boxes to scoop out every last tangy bite.

Oats are pretty great, too. If they’re mushy and in a bowl for breakfast in the morning, I sprinkle ample amounts of brown sugar on top and call it a meal. I personally prefer the honeyed crunch of oats when they’re made into granola.

However, oatmeal and raisins together? I know that the oatmeal raisin cookie is a classic treat, but I just can’t bring myself to enjoy them. My theory is that, when I spy a cookie stuffed with raisins, the raisin’s close resemblance to chocolate catches me off guard. My limbs fill with excitement at the prospect of chocolate, and I reach out to grab a cookie, only to realize that the raisins have tricked me. I can no longer anticipate the creamy, chocolate-y crunch of a chocolate chip oatmeal cookie. I am left with a cookie brimming with some suddenly sinister raisins.

And it is here in our story that the tasty protagonist, a sight for sore eyes, a wondrous chocolate chip oatmeal cookie, bounds onto center stage.

Chocolate and oatmeal, taking center stage

My mom told me that she got this recipe from a friend in middle school, and she has yet to taste a better chocolate chip cookie. I’m not sure how she does it, but hers always manage to taste better than mine, though we’re using the same recipe. Maybe a mother always does know best. Last year she sent two sizable boxes of cookies to my roommate and I for Valentine’s Day. I haven’t received another box yet, but my parents are coming to visit Montreal in a couple of weeks. Bring on the cookies!

I won’t write a full music review for an album today, simply because I wouldn’t find myself fit to even know where to start on this one.

Presenting:

Moscow Rtv Symphony Orchestra presents Beethoven’s No. 6 and No. 7 Symphonies

I listened to this symphony while the cookies were in the making. It’s one of my favorite Beethoven symphonies, and the noble, sweeping crescendos of the violin had me dancing from cabinet to cabinet. Here’s the first 8 minutes or so:

Op. 68 “Pastoral”: I. Allegro Ma Non Troppo (it’s a big file, so have patience with the loading)

~~~

Mom’s 7th grade friend’s ‘Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies’, with a few tweaks
(Ample credit, right?)
Makes approx. 18 cookies

1/2 cup shortening
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
1 egg, lightly whisked
1 tbsp milk
1 tsp vanilla
3/4 cup flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup rolled oats
1 cup chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 325°.

In a small bowl, cream the shortening and the sugars. Stir in the egg, milk and vanilla. Then, sift the dry ingredients into a medium-sized bowl. To this bowl, add your egg mixture in three increments. Fold in the oats and the chocolate chips. Onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper, drop tablespoon-sized dough balls. Bake for 15-17 minutes or until cooked through and lightly browned. Allow to cool on a rack for 10 minutes before enjoying.

About Chris

I'm Chris, and here I am eating a nectarine. I live in ever-exciting Montreal, the true birthplace of my food fascination. Enjoy the food and check out some new tunes while you're at it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Jennifer says:

    I can confirm that these cookies are my all-time favorite. A perfect combination of crunchy chewy sweetness. And I totally agree about chocolate chips vs. raisins.

  2. May says:

    i’m gonna make these little disks of ecstasy asap! butter instead of shortening – do you allow it?

  3. May says:

    I MADE THEM – yummmm

    used margerine + butter in place of shortening, soy milk in place of milk and no added salt
    chocolate chips disappeared from my cupboard so i omitted. still works out

    great recipe!

Leave a Reply

