Roasted Grapes

 

So, I’m presenting myself with a particular challenge: all of the food that goes into my fridge will get consumed. I watch helplessly as the wasted souls are tossed straight from the grocery bag to the fridge to the garbage. This occurrence is not only metaphorically tragic, it is also kind of embarrassing, as I am supposed to be studying environmental science. So, I’ve decided it’s time to put my money where my mouth is.

My heavily-guarded olive oil: a result of our Italian trip

At the end of October, I vowed (or perhaps I was procrastinating) not to take a trip to the grocery store until November, or until all of the fridge food had been eaten up. I made a lot of risotto, omelettes, curries and soups. I even began to experiment more with meat, which I’d previously shied away from in favor of tofu or vegetables. I wasn’t a vegetarian, but there were a few foreseeable problems that I had with meat. One, it is expensive, especially for university students. Two, it’s kind of finicky when you’re trying to find the tender balance between undercooked and dried out. Three, I would be forced to confront what I was eating. So tonight I decided to cook a whole chicken. What lay before me was not a plate of moist, cooked chicken breast. This was a great heaping slimy mass of chicken meat, and I was groping it clumsily as my fingers worked their way into dark, unseen places. My boyfriend stood over my shoulder, and we made the necessary jokes as I intimately felt up this chicken. But in the end, it wasn’t all that bad, and I feel like I’m ready to climb up the proverbial next stair on the tower of meat mastery.

Anyway, about these grapes. They’d been sitting in my fridge since last week, and I was beginning to worry that my self-induced challenge would go to the gutters if I didn’t use up this bag of fruit. They were good grapes, too, but with four seeds per globe, they were more of an annoyance than anything. So, tonight I sat down to carve out the tiny seeds from approximately 30 grapes, and boy was it worth it. The roasted version of this fruit teases out the grape’s inherent sweetness, the finished product tasting somewhat like roasted pear. I served it with roasted chicken and creamy roasted garlic polenta, but I can also envision these guys with some crackers and soft cheese.

I won’t write a full music review today, but I will leave you guys with this soulful little doozy.

Presenting:

“Little Dragon” by Little Dragon

This Swedish sensation is headed by the impassioned vocals of Yukimi Nagano, and the  finished product, a smooth blend of electronic and R&B, is an unexpected revel.

Listen to a few of my favorites, here:

Place To Belong

Constant Suprises

Scribbled Paper

After The Rain

Roasted Grapes
Serves two (as a side dish)

About 30 red grapes, washed
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 tablespoon rosemary spears
Salt
Pepper

Preheat the oven to 350°F.

Half the grapes lengthwise and dig out the seeds with a knife (or a small corer, if you don’t mind losing some of the grape flesh). Pat the grapes halves dry.

Pour the grape halves into a casserole dish and toss with olive oil and rosemary. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Bake the grapes for 35 minutes, then increase the heat to 425°F, and bake for 8-10 minutes longer, or until grapes have reached desired softness. Serve warm.

About Chris

I'm Chris, and here I am eating a nectarine. I live in ever-exciting Montreal, the true birthplace of my food fascination. Enjoy the food and check out some new tunes while you're at it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

